P90x3 Review

Ninety days later I can breathe a brief sigh of relief.  My quest to obtain a 6 pack started almost 3 years ago.  I tried everything, running everyday, eating healthier, watching youtube videos, going to the gym and doing my own workout, but nothing seemed to work for me.

I was skeptical about P90x3 at first. It’s a lot of money to dedicate to a program that I may not have time for. Luckily, a friend had gotten it and never used it, so he gave it to me to check it out.

The P90x series is a workout series created by Tony Horton.  There is P90x, P90x2 and P90x3.  I tried P90x, and it was horrible.  Not the workouts themselves, but the shear time that a person had to dedicate to working out. Some of the workouts from P90x lasted 2 hours! That’s an insane amount of time for a working person to dedicate to working out per day.  Since the original P90x, Tony Horton has improved upon his working out methods; P90x3 is just 30 minute workouts a day.

There are several items to consider for a workout, but the biggest one is, does it work? For 30 minute workouts per day, the workout needs to work the whole body.  P90x3 is able to accomplish this combining upper body, abs, lower body and cardio into a lot of the workouts.  The person will also have days where he or she is doing a stretching workout such as yoga or pilates, but in a 30 minute workout, those aren’t walks in the park either.

Well without further ado, here’s a picture of me before P90x3

20140505_162439

After 90 days of working out using P90x3, here’s a picture of me after.

20150421_144959

I think the pictures speak for themselves as to what I think about the workout, but let me dive deeper into the program a little bit.  There is no one there watching you, so you have to really push yourself.  Any workout, not just P90x3 requires dedication.  You know your body and how hard you can push yourself. It’s only 30 minutes a day so you have to get the most out of it. Remember though, if you injure yourself, you won’t be able to do the workout at all.

One of the ways P90x3 works is by having your own workout equipment: Pull up bar or bands (I used bands) and free weights. I also used a power stand for push ups and a medicine ball for the CVX workout.  All these pieces of equipment you can get from walmart for about $20 a piece.

I can understand that some of you may be concerned with price. The Ultimate Kit, which comes with everything you need, is 3 payments of about $110 plus $40 shipping and handling. This comes out to about $370.  The base kit, which is the workouts, the nutrition and fitness guides, and a fitness band included (I’m not sure if that’s just a promo right now or if they do that forever) is 3 payments of $40 plus $20 shipping and handling. Which comes to around $140.

You can essentially say I had even less than the base kit considering my friend gave me just the workout videos for free. I already had most of the other equipment, I only had to go to Walmart to buy some extra resistance bands. I had my own meal plan and just made sure that I stuck to the workout everyday.

Positives: Workout is only 30 minutes per day, It actually works, Tony Horton adds humor to the workouts so it doesn’t get boring

Negatives: Personally, I feel that the bands do less than a pull up bar would ( I would use a pull up bar if I didn’t have to travel so much for work), Having to get on the floor a lot to do workout moves may be a little nasty if you have a workout in a back alley hotel or motel

Overall: 9.7/10

When you do the math, it makes sense. After you finish the 90 days, you can start over again.  Why pay $10 per month for a gym membership for 10 years, when you can purchase P90x3 and have it forever? If you put your mind to it, you can accomplish anything, you just have to believe.  Good luck to everyone in your workout adventures.

(If you like this post, check out my others and like me on facebook! http://www.facebook.com/agentzero3432)

Leave a Reply

